Blind Bargains

iOS 13.4 adds support for iCloud-based folder sharing


iOS 13.4, released earlier this week, introduces iCloud folder sharing to anyone with an Apple ID.

Apple touted shared folders as a feature of its files app with the launch of iOS 13, however, though individual files could be shared for some time, shared folders have only now become available. The Dropbox-like competitor allows users to select a folder for sharing, edit the permissions of recipients, and then select recipients to be added. As with Dropbox, added users can read, edit, add to and delete files in a shared folder.

VoiceOver users may access the share option by triple-tapping a folder in the files app with 1 finger. The share option will be near the bottom of the screen. It is also worth noting however, that as of now, it appears that only user-created folders, rather than folders created by apps, can be shared at this time.

While this feature is technically accessible via the web on windows devices, the practical limitations mean that folders are most readily shared with users with access to an iOS or Mac with the files app installed.

In my testing, all of this is doable with voiceOver, though a few elements of the process are somewhat unentuitive. First, tripple tap the folder you wish to share. Then, select "share" at the bottom of the screen. As I said above, this feature only works with user-created folders. After selecting share, look for "add people" located near the bottom of that screen. A note of caution: do not select a person's name in the share sheet before clicking add people. Doing so only zips a copy of the folder and does not in fact share its contents. Instead, find "add people" on the share screen, then choose how you'd like to send the invitation. At the bottom of the "add people" screen, you'll also have options to edit the access level for invited people before sending. Available options are editable, meaning that others can edit the contents of files in these folders and the files themselves, while read-only means that added people can only view the contents of the shared folders and files.

learn more about iCloud folder sharing here.

Source: How to use iCloud Drive Folder Sharing in iOS 13.4 and macOS 10.15.4
Category: News

No one has commented on this post.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Username or Email:
Password:
Keep me logged in on this computer

Or Forgot username or password?
Register for free

Tangela Mahaffey is a barely reformed English Major currently residing in Colorado. She reads entirely too many fantasy books and takes almost nothing seriously, including herself. She loves technology, music, writing, puns, and cats. She can be reached on twitter @tmmahaff


Copyright 2006-2020, A T Guys, LLC.